The Volcanoes

In the forty years since Mount St. Helens changed the way people in the Pacific Northwest related to their skyline, the four principal peaks that compose the Cascade Volcanic Arc – Rainier, Adams, St. Helens and Hood – have continued to be viewed by most residents of the busy I-5 corridor with both awe and affection. This region abounds with ways to explore the volcanic evidence, along with the serene forests and quiet towns surrounding the area. National parks and rushing rivers provide countless hours of hiking, hunting, fishing, birding, wildlife watching, and camping. Be prepared to be inspired as the Volcanoes Region welcomes you!

Cowlitz County

Cowlitz County is in Phase 2 and has applied for Phase 3, as of June 19th.

Lewis County

Lewis County was approved for Phase 3 on June 19th.

Thurston County

Thurston County is in Phase 3, as of June 26th.